About Kay Kenyon

Kay Kenyon is the author of over a dozen science fiction and fantasy novels. Her latest works comprise the Dark Talents trilogy, titled  At the Table of Wolves, Serpent in the Heather and in 2019, Nest of the Monarch. Her science fiction books include The Entire and The Rose quartet, Maximum Ice, and The Seeds of Time. Her other fantasy novels are A Thousand Perfect Things and Queen of the Deep.

Her novels have been nominated for the Philip K. Dick Award, the Endeavour Award, the John W. Campbell Award and have been twice nominated for the American Library Association Reading List Awards. Her short fiction has been published in numerous anthologies and magazines as well as several best-of-the-year collections. Five of her short stories are available on Amazon.com as stand-alones.

Her latest work, the Dark Talents series, is historical fantasy set in 1936 England. From Simon & Schuster/Saga Press, it’s the story of dark Talents, Nazis and espionage–offering up a dramatic and slightly-altered history of the run-up to WWII.

Kay is a founding member of the Write on the River organization in Wenatchee, Washington, dedicated to nurturing writers from inspiration to publication.

She and her husband split their time between Wenatchee and Southern California, both desert environments which she claims is the best environment for story ideas.

Recent podcast interviews

Horrible Writing podcast. I talk about why writing won’t save you.

Dialogue Between the Lines, with Susan Wingate


The Dark Talents Novels:

Nest of the Monarch (April 2019)

Serpent in the Heather (2018)

At the Table of Wolves (2017)

Queen of the Deep (2015)

A Thousand Perfect Things (2013)

The Entire and The Rose quartet:

Bright of the Sky (2007)

A World Too Near (2008)

City Without End (2009)

Prince of Storms (2010)

The Braided World (2003, reissued 2014)

Maximum Ice (2002, reissued 2014)

The Tropic of Creation (2000, reissued 2014)

Rift (1999, reissued 2014)

The Seeds of Time (1997, reissued, 2014)

At Rievaulx Abbey ruins, North Yorkshire. This is the site of a major scene in my historical fantasy, At the Table of Wolves.


  • World Science Fiction Convention
    San Jose, CA
    Aug 16, 2018 6:00pm - Aug 19, 2018 10:00pm
  • Pacific Northwest Writers Conference 9/14-15
    Seattle WA
    I'll be teaching this workshop:

    Friday, September 14. 2:00-3:30 PM.

    The Magic of Plotting

    How do you develop a novel’s plot? Is it luck, or trial and error, or are there classic approaches you can use to bring out your best story? Learn to bring forth the magic within your creativity--and give it form in the world: your story! Kay Kenyon is the author of 14 science fiction and fantasy novels, including a new fantasy trilogy from Simon & Schuster/Saga. She will focus on initial inspiration, and the deep tools of mystery, surprise, originality, conflict, momentum, and transformation.

    Sep 14, 2018 11:00am - Sep 15, 2018 10:00pm
  • SFWA Reading Series, Guest author
    Wilde Rover Irish Pub, Kirkland WA
    I'll read and discuss my new series, Dark Talents. Also: PJ Manney, Spencer Ellsworth
    Sep 25, 2018 7:00pm - Sep 25, 2018 8:30pm
  • Guest author at SFWA Reading Series
    Lucky Lab on Hawthorne, Portland OR
    Reading and a chat about the Dark Talents novels and also appearing with:

    P.J. Manney and Spencer Ellsworth
    Sep 27, 2018 7:00pm - Sep 27, 2018 8:30pm
  • World Fantasy Convention
    Baltimore MD
    My schedule to come.
    Nov 1, 2018 9:00am - Nov 4, 2018 4:00pm